Sania Mirza has been recommended for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award

Sania Mirza has been recommended for the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award:

Sania Mirza, who is a very famous “Tennis player” of India, is in the news from few months as she has won the title of “Women’s double” recently. She had won many championships which made India proud.

Now, Sania has been recommended for the “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award”, she had made a new look for tennis in India. Her name was recommended by a Sports Ministry-constituted awards committee headed by Justice V K Bali. Sania had also won the gold medal and the bronze medal in the mixed and women’s doubles categories of the 2014 Asian Games in Incheon. Sania Mirza is the second tennis player, who is selected for “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award.”


image of sania mirza

sania mirza photo

Sania Mirza-Tennis Player Of India

There are also other players from other games who are selected for “Arjun Award” this year. Here we have provided you the names of the players with the games who are selected for the same.

Names of Games and Selected players:-

Cricket:- Rohit Sharma, Shooting:- Jitu Rai, Gymnast:- Dipa Karmakar, Wresting:- Bajrang and Babita, Hockey:- P.R.Sreejesh, Athlete:- M.R.Poovamma, Boxing:- Mandeep Jangra, Shooting:- K.Srikanth.

Sponsored Links

The recommended names will now be sent to the Sports Minister Sarbananda Sonowal, who will take a final decision. Only after the sign of the Sports Minister, the names would be made public. This year, the “Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award” will be given by the President Pranab Mukherjee on August 29, the National Sports Day.

Read also: Sundar Pichai is Google’s new CEO: Check more about him

About Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award and Arjun Award:

Every year, Indian government appreciates the sports persons with these awards who performed so well in that year. Sania had created history by winning the title of “Women’s double” for India with her partner Martina Hingis in Wimbledon.

The awards will be given by the President Pranab Mukherjee on 29th August 2015 on the occasion of “National Sports Day”. The Khel Ratna carries prize money of Rs 7.5 lakh along with a citation while the Arjuna awards come with a cash prize of Rs 5 lakh and a citation.

We hope you are satisfied with the information. Stay tuned with us for latest updates.

TAGS: , ,

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *